Third party cookies may be stored when visiting this site. Please see the cookie information.

Change to LPI (Linux Professional Institute) recertification policy

LPI (Linux Professional Institute) LogoThe Linux Professional Institute (LPI) has changed it's recertification policy. Previously LPIC qualifications were active for 10 years, but now they are only active for 5 years. I can understand the reason for the change, and still think it's a reasonable length of time. If you think about how much Linux has changed in 10 years you can see that the operating system has changed quite a bit in that time.

I'm unlikely to recertify when my certificates run out. The main reason that I gained certification was as a personal challenge, and actual experience can be just as useful (if not more) than the certification. Despite the change in the active period it's still a worthwhile qualification to gain.

Notification from LPI

Linux Professional Institute changes Recertification Policy

(Tokoyo, Japan: December 1, 2006) - The Linux Professional Institute

(LPI), (, the world's premier Linux certification is

changing the organization's "Recertification Policy" to ensure that the

skills and knowledge of Linux professionals continues to be relevant and

current. Candidates who have earned LPIC certifications will have to

re-certify every five years or alternatively earn a higher certification

status. Previously recertification was only required after ten years.

Jim Lacey, President and CEO of LPI, said LPI will continue to advise

Linux professionals to seek recertification every two years due to rapid

changes and improvements in the Linux operating system but that

consultations with industry leaders indicated that a mandatory five year

recertification policy was sufficient at this time: "We continue to

improve our product development processes and programs through on-going

dialogue with industry leaders and IT professionals. In bringing our

exams up-to-date with recent versions of the Linux kernel we found it

necessary to re-examine our recertification policy. It should be noted

that because we are distribution-neutral we don't require our candidates

to re-certify with each new version of a specific distribution. However,

we are interested in the underlying technology of the Linux operating

system and what knowledge and skills an IT professional must have to

work with multiple distributions in an enterprise environment. Our new

recertification policy should ensure the relevance, currency and value

of those who have obtained our certification."

LPI's new Recertification Policy can be found on the organization's

website at and

is included in full below:

"Recertification Policy

Once a person is certified by LPI and receives a certification

designation (LPIC-1, LPIC-2, LPIC-3), recertification is recommended

after two years from the date of the certification designation to retain

a current certification status. However, to RETAIN an ACTIVE

certification status, a certification holder is REQUIRED to recertify

within 5 years of the certification designation.

Recertification requires that the individual candidate passes all

up-to-date exams that are only required for the highest earned

certification designation. After successful recertification, the

designation status will be updated to ACTIVE for a period of FIVE years.

When a higher level certification designation is earned, the status of

all lower level designations are considered ACTIVE for FIVE years from

the date of the higher level certification designation. However,

candidates who do not recertify and allow their certification status to

lapse will be required to earn their current and all lower level

certification designations, should they subsequently pursue reactivating

their certification status.

The addition of the designation status of ACTIVE or INACTIVE into the

LPI database began on September 1, 2004. Certification designations

(LPIC-1, LPIC-2, etc.) earned before that date will be subject to

the recertification stipulations as outlined above. Therefore all

certification designations earned before September 1, 2004

will no longer be considered 'lifetime' designations and instead will only have

ACTIVE status from FIVE years from the date of certification

designation. However, certification designations earned prior to

September 1, 2003 will be considered ACTIVE certifications until

September 1, 2008."

» PenguinTutor Facebook page